ILM group

The ILM group uses amplified ultra-short pulses produced by femtosecond lasers to study the properties and changes on the mater when irradiated by such intense laser pulses. One of the main topics is the propagation of these ultrashort pulse through transparant media in a non-linear regime.

Femtosecond filamentation occurs spontaneously when a short intense laser pulse is launched through a transparent medium with a power above a critical value. We study different properties of filaments like electromagnetic emission, pulse shortening, electrical discharge guiding...

 

Research Topics Latest Publications Members of the Team
Press book Alumni
Ph.D. thesis and Patents Collaborations
Archives 1994-2006
Conferences

 

Since January 2017 the ILM group coordinates the European FET-OPEN project "Laser Lightning Rod". Funded under the Horizon 2020 European programme, the LLR project aims to investigate and develop a new type of lightning protection based on the use of upward lightning discharges initiated by a high-repetition-rate multi-terawatt laser. The laser-based system could be easily deployable for the protection of vulnerable installations such as electrical plants, launching pad, airports...

 

ENSTA CNRS Ecole Polytechnique

Groupe ILM

Le groupe ILM utilise des impulsions ultra-brèves amplifiées pour étudier les propriétés de la matière soumise à un rayonnement très intense. Un des thèmes qui est plus particulièrement développé est la propagation de ces impulsions ultra brèves à travers des milieux transparents en régime non linéaire.

La filamentation femtoseconde se produit spontanément lorsqu'une impulsion laser se propage dans un milieu transparant avec une puissance supérieure à une valeur critique. Nous étudions les différentes propriétés de ces filaments comme leur rayonnements électromagnétiques (de l'UV aux THz), l'auto-compression d'impulsions, le guidage de décharges électriques...

 

Thèmes de recherche Publications récentes Membres de l'équipe
Dossier de presse Anciens membres
Thèses et brevets Collaborations
Archives 1994-2006
Conferences

 

Depuis janvier 2017 le groupe ILM coordonne le projet européen FET-OPEN "Laser Lightning Rod". Financé dans le cadre du programme européen Horizon 2020, ce projet a pour objectif le développement d’un nouveau système de protection contre la foudre, visant à provoquer des décharges ascendantes à l’aide d’un laser multi-terawatt à haut taux de répétition. Le système laser pourrait être aisément déployé pour la protection d’infrastructures vulnérables telles que les centrales électriques, les pas de tirs ou les aéroports.

 

ENSTA CNRS Ecole Polytechnique